I have intolerance to milk and dairy derivatives.

0
515

I hope you can help me. I have an intolerance to milk and dairy derivatives. Of course, I now have to check labels for all kinds of milk ingredients. One ingredient I am not sure of is calcium lactate. I am wondering if you can tell me if calcium lactate is a milk derivative. Thanks.

Calcium lactate is the form of calcium found in milk. So yes, it can be derived from milk. It is usually found in a calcium supplement most often prescribed for pregnant women. If you have an intolerance to milk and dairy foods, then you probably are not allergic to calcium lactate, but the lactose in milk. Lactose is the sugar found in milk which causes milk allergy in adults. Babies that are allergic to cow’s milk are allergic to the protein in milk (lactalbumin) which they often outgrow as toddlers.